torch

November 1, 2016 § 2 Comments

In this part of the forest I don’t need a light to find my way. The unevenness of the ground buoys my steps and I am trusting the dynamics of my knees and ankles, my feet, to keep me moving forward through the dark smell of evergreens, through the silence of sleeping birds whose tiny heartbeats are unheard by my ears which jump now and then to the crack of wood or the scurrying of nocturnal paws over the soft carpet of old conifer fronds. But there is a light now, roving among the black smudges of the far trees, is it the way home or somewhere else, or are they one and the same, coming back and knowing myself afresh, my world and what it is.

Thanks to OneTreeBohemia Melissa Fu for November inspiration

random word generator prompt #1, #freewrite #minimaledit #poetrysketch

§ 2 Responses to torch

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading torch at An Apparent Mind.

meta

